jump to navigation

Surgery of the Soul August 22, 2013

Posted by thesociallyawkwardchristian in Christianity.
trackback

“I volunteer for your sanctifying surgery. I know the Spirit’s purging me of everything that’s hurting me.” – Lecrae

 

Today I have knee surgery. Other than having my tonsils removed when I was a little boy, this will be the first time I’ve been put under. I’m more nervous about the recovery than the operation. I know I won’t feel anything in the operation but I will surely feel plenty in the recovery. 

I tore my ACL exactly two months ago when I came off some stairs the wrong way at work. It hurt really bad then and for about a week after it happened. Since then it’s been sore but mostly, I can live with it. It’s interesting that the process to fix what’s wrong with me is probably going to be more painful than any pain I’ve experienced from the actual problem. I guess that’s the way healing works. To be truly whole sometimes we have to endure some pain. 

Human beings are fundamentally broken. I don’t think anyone can argue that. To fix our brokenness Jesus was tortured and crucified. He experienced the pain that we needed to endure to bring us healing. By his wounds we are healed. 

That doesn’t mean we get off pain free, however. Sanctification can be a painful process. Coming face to face with our own depravity is never a joyful occasion. But, as the Lord continues our healing through the process of sanctification that often what has to happen. Our sin hurts us and hurts others, and when the Holy Spirit convicts us of that, he’s like the surgeon showing us the MRI results of a shredded ACL. It can be overwhelming. But, then as the Holy Spirit removes our heart of stone and replaces it with a heart of flesh, like the surgeon who will replace my ACL today, the healing begins. Then as we go and ask forgiveness from the ones we’ve hurt, it’s like physical therapy, the most painful part of the healing process but the most necessary if we want to be truly whole. 

Our entire lives in the spirit are like a surgery. There is pain, but there is also healing. And one day, it will be as if we are brand new. My prayer is that we not give in to the pain, but we press on to the healing.

Comments»

1. Holly - August 24, 2013

Good word, Brandon. Thankful that our pain always has a PURPOSE. Doesn’t always make it hurt less, but it gives me hope knowing that the stretching, the breaking, the discipline is always for my benefit.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

